Sailor Babo’s Roman holiday

Sailor Babo of Baltimore (SBoB) went on a trip to visit the Eternal City.  He had a very good time!

“That’s a lot of steps…let’s go see if that gladiator has any cookies.”

SBoB surveys the Spanish Steps

“I think this place is run by my British cousin, Sir Babington.”

Babington's Tea Rooms

“Why isn’t the fountain on?”  (It was undergoing cleaning/restoration, meh.)

SBoB - Trevi Fountain

He checked out some souvenirs.  “Um…”

SBoB - Rome souvenirs

“Whoa…this thing is huge!”

SBoB visits the Colosseum

SBoB visits the Colosseum

SBoB visits the Colosseum

“I don’t know about this ‘Mouth of Truth.'”

SBoB - Mouth of Truth

“Aaaahhh, get me out of here!”

SBoB - Mouth of Truth

“Fancy building…I wonder if it has any cookies?”

SBoB checks out the Pantheon

He explored the Vatican.  “I know this one – it’s called the School of Cookies, right?”

SBoB checks out Rafael's School of Athens

And he saw the balcony where the Pope greets people.  “Viva il Papa!”

SBoB visits St. Peter's

He had a lot of fun at the Villa Borghese.

“Why is that lady turning into a tree?”

SBoB at the Villa Borghese

“Nice marmot.”

SBoB at the Villa Borghese

He also enjoyed some Italian cuisine.

“Ah, the best way to start the day!”

SBoB has some authentic Italian espresso

“Ooh, cheesy puffy cookies!”

SBoB samples some pizza

SBoB digs into some pasta

Of course, his favorite treats were all the sweets, especially the gelato.

SBoB checks out some desserts

SBoB checks out some desserts

SBoB enjoys some gelato

He wants to know when he can go back!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sailor Babo’s Roman holiday

  1. M-----l says:

    Cute post! It’s perfect timing for me as I’m spending the day reading a book that takes place in Rome…and I just rescued a $2 Sailor Babo off eBay about an hour ago.

    I’m surprised you didn’t stick SBoB in the Mouth of Truth. Too germy?

    • mmcurator says:

      Cool! And yeah, I was worried about germs but even more afraid that I’d lose my grasp on him and he’d fall inside, never to return! I didn’t want him to be swallowed!

  2. Laurie says:

    I like the different angles of Sailor Babo that we get to see in this post. Great shots!

  3. crankypants says:

    [this is excellent!] [and makes me miss Rome]

  4. amyhftw says:

    I was just reading a story about Rome in the latest Smithsonian and was thinking about planning a trip. Thanks, SBoB for reinforcing my enthusiasm!

  5. Great post! Looks like he had lots of fun tagging along with you

  6. Lauri says:

    What a great trip! SBoB really gets around! Lol at the David “souvenirs”.

    • mmcurator says:

      Yes, he does love to explores. He was a little surprised by the “souvenirs”…not so much because of what they are but because the David isn’t even in Rome!

  7. Lurkertype says:

    I want to go! With or without a Sailor Babo.

    (“WITH!” comes a tiny shout from across the room.)

Leave a Reply

