HG asks Sailor Babo to look after her grandchild

She says, “Aw, it’ll be okay! He’s so sweet and gentle. You’ll enjoy it! Give it a try!”  And then she throws me into the pit with him.

Kai visit 072

help!

Lucky for me, it stayed asleep. So I tried taking a nap with it. But I admit, I had a hard time relaxing.

Kai visit 074

I don’t think this is gong to work.

I begged HG for mercy, so she finally took me out of the baby’s den and let me try to make friends with her daughter’s dog.

Kai visit 076

Is that a dog toy, Grandma?

I was a little disappointed because the dog didn’t seem to like me much.

Kai visit 071

meh.

I did try my best to be a good houseguest and babysitter. HG felt bad for me, so she took me down to the East River, where we watched the ships pass under the bridge.

Kai visit 066

a barge navigates under the RFK bridge

I think I prefer boats to babies.

Video | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to HG asks Sailor Babo to look after her grandchild

  1. M-----l says:

    At first glance, I thought your grandson was wearing a Target bag.

    • Got up on the wrong side of the bed this morning, did you? 😦

    • I think you should remove me from the Babo Brigade. This is the last time I’ll ever post anything on this blog. You don’t attack anyone in my family. Ever.

      • I wish I had seen this exchange three days ago, because I would have butted myself in then and said something. Now it seems all weird because it’s been sitting out here all this time without a peep from anyone. But I guess I’ll butt in anyway.

        I’m going to speculate that M—–l was making an offhand, free-associative comment about how something registered in his brain before the comprehension part kicked in and he realized what he was looking at. However, it was the sort of free association HG would probably prefer that her family not be included in, particularly when she is very much missing said family, and has lately been confronted by certain other relatives bringing her unfriendly legalistic “gifts” and general ill will.

        I suspect no ill will was intended by M—–l.

        I hope you guys won’t be alienated from each other, because I like you both and I’d rather you not be pissed off, and I’d be sorry to lose HG from the Babo Bandwagon.

        • Okay. I saw M—–l’s comment when I was feeling very low, and as I said on my own blog, it’s a bad time to take a poke at me, even if it’s meant to be friendly. I don’t appreciate hearing that my grandson appears to be wrapped in a plastic shopping bag (it’s a swaddling cloth with a cute orange owl pattern on it), but I can see where it looks that way.

          I think I just need to take a break from the internet. I’ll still be reading other people’s blogs and leaving comments where it seems fitting: but right now I’m tired, grumpy, and not particularly good company now. I just want to watch upbeat, inspiring movies and soak my brain in copious amounts of cheap red wine. And oh yeah, prepare for my karate belt exam.

          Thanks for butting in, by the way.

  2. crankypants says:

    Probably a good thing Jingjing did not take to you too much!

  3. mmcurator says:

    Oh, the poor thing! Don’t put him near babies, he’ll get drooled on and he won’t like that! And don’t put him near dogs either, he might get chewed!

  4. Lurkertype says:

    Super harrowing! LTSB says he’s never going to NYC if that’s the sort of thing that’s going to happen.

Leave a Reply

