Sailor Babo goes to Seattle to meet Sailor Babo!

HG and her son took me to Seattle last week! It was fun!

First we went to the Seattle Art Museum.

IMG_1446At the front we were greeted by the Hammering Man. His hammer arm is supposed to move up and down, but it must have been his day off. Β It wasn’t moving.

We saw the museum’s current show of Japanese fashion design. HG loved the clothes there, but the museum wouldn’t let her take any photographs of them. So she asked me what was my favorite art piece, and I chose this.

IMG_1455

african headrest

Then we went to Capitol Hill to meet Homebody and her Sailor Babo! Homebody asked us to come to the famous Cupcake Royale on Pike Street, where she treated us to ice cream and cupcakes!

IMG_1472

back row: HG, Homebody
front row: HG Sailor Babo and the Original Sailor Babo of Seattle

I asked Seattle Sailor Babo what he would recommend. He thought the bacon crack cookies sounded pretty good.

IMG_1470There were so many choices, it was hard to make up our minds.

IMG_1474

what does whiskey maple bacon crack taste like?

IMG_1476

can we buy the whole store?

Unfortunately, it was a weekday, so Homebody and Seattle Sailor Babo had to go back to work. Β So HG and her son took me to Uwajimaya, the giant Asian grocery store in the International District.

IMG_1479

badtz maru has a mad

IMG_1481

chinatown gate, international district

Then the local seagulls left us with a souvenir of our visit.

IMG_1442

@#$% seagulls

HG started using a lot of bad words, until I asked her what @#$% meant.

I still thought it was a great day! I wanna go back soon and have cookies with Seattle Sailor Babo again!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Sailor Babo goes to Seattle to meet Sailor Babo!

  1. amyhftw says:

    What a great trip! Except for the seagull poo, of course.

  2. Lurkertype says:

    Those two are the SB’s who have met the most other SBs, I think.

    Cupcake Royale looks like a place we should have a meet up with all the Babos.

  3. crankypants says:

    Yay! I love the Babos and Homey/HG pic!! (love Homey’s glasses too!) Ugh those ice cream flavors look so good. I would not have been able to choose!

  4. Mmmm…looks good! Also agree that it sounds like you guys had fun! πŸ˜€
    The Babos look so cute as they ponder which cookies to get

    • The two Sailor Babos huddled next to the counter for awhile, whispering. I thought I caught HGSailor Babo mentioning my name. He probably was dishing all the dirt about me to Seattle Sailor Babo. πŸ˜€ That cute little smile on his face conceals a world of mischief!

  5. homebody says:

    It was so great to meet you and your son! (and of course your Sailor Babo!)

    • It was great! I should have tried to meet you earlier, but the traffic on the drive to Seattle is crazy-making. (Actually, the drive coming back from the Glass Museum in Tacoma on Friday was far worse. Everybody and his mother must have been trying to drive south that afternoon.)

      I’m now wishing I had also bought a box of cupcakes. Or gone back for the Stumptown Coffee ice cream. Guess I’ll have to do it on my next visit. πŸ˜‰

      Sailor Babo: Heck yeah!

      • homebody says:

        Yes yes yes to next visit!

        • Oh, I forgot to thank you for the bottle of Flora! My son tossed it in the back seat on the way home (‘Eww, Mom, perfume!’) and it didn’t reappear until I slammed on the brakes on my way to karate class—ugh, rush hour traffic in Sac!—and the bottle rolled out from under the seat. I spritzed a little on a tissue, and it smelled liked ripe peaches and summer flowers. I couldn’t wear it in to class, but I loved smelling it in the car. Now the bottle sits on my bedside table as a souvenir of that warm day in Seattle. Thank you again!

  6. M-----l says:

    This post really makes me want a Coconut Bunny. Grrr.

  7. amelie says:

    Love the photos of Hammering Man and the headrest. Very cool. Of course an ice cream shop where you can get drunk is mandatory. Icebat says he’s now jealous and wishes he could have joined you. Did he mention he can scare away sea gulls?

    • Ice Bat must come to Seattle and stand guard over the car! Though that wouldn’t be much fun for him. He ought to be able to party with the Sailor Babos, though I don’t think they would get drunk on the Whiskey Maple Bacon Crack ice cream.

      (I kinda wonder if there’s real bacon in the ice cream and cookies. I mean, it would be kind of gross. Or maybe not. When I was a kid, I used to dip barbecue-flavored potato chips in ice cream.)

  8. SingingTuna says:

    LOL…
    Good times!!!

  9. mmcurator says:

    That looks like so much fun, I want to go to Seattle! (And take SBoB with me so we can go to that bakery/ice cream store…looks delicious!)

  10. Pingback: vacation in olympia! | Hangaku Gozen's Blog

  11. e2thec says:

    Hammering Man – it’s by Jonathan Borofsky. I had an internship at the Corcoran Gallery of Art (D.C.) that coincided with a Borofsky retrospective. The dep’t. I worked in was right off the main 1st-floor galleries, and right outside our door was a sculpture that also had a recording (tape loop? this was long before MP3s and digital music players) that ran on and on and ON (all damned day) with a very boozy-sounding version of “My Way.” I think everyone wanted to tear that thing out and destroy it!

    • Was the sound loop part of the Borofsky exhibit? I’ve only seen his outdoor sculptures, never anything inside a gallery.

      • e2thec says:

        Yes, it was part of one of his sculptures. The whole place was full of Borofskys! (there were multiple Hammering Men in one of the 2nd floor galleries.)

      • e2thec says:

        needless to say, everyone was *very* relieved when the Borofsky show was over… that damn song!!!

        • I can’t remember the name of the artist—Bruce Nauman?—but there was a show at the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis, where in one room a video ran continuously. It was a clown who shouted obscenities at the camera. After watching it for a couple of minutes, I wondered how the staff could stand hearing that day after day. It was funny at first, but after awhile it descended into stupid. Or stupor. Kind of the same thing.

          • e2thec says:

            Not sure here (on the artist), but it does sound like a Bruce Nauman kind of thing.

            but then, there is (imo) a lot of idiotic stuff out there that passes for contemporary art. (Jeff Koons, anyone?!) I know I sound cynical, but honestly, I used to take some pretty preposterous and self-aggrandizing work seriously, and I just can’t anymore.

  12. stevebetz says:

    Isn’t summer in Seattle magical? Almost makes up for the other 8 months of mist and rain. πŸ™‚

    • I couldn’t believe how blue the sky was! There was none of the smog, smoke, and dust we get in the summer months here in the Central Valley. Then I overheard someone grumping about the lack of rain and how if things went on “like this,” there’d be a drought. I suppose some people LIKE gloomy, wet weather, which is why they live in the Northwest. They ought to move to San Francisco so they can wear jackets and sweaters all summer long! :p

Leave a Reply

