Sailor Babo in San Diego

IMG_1193

 

HG has been sick all week, so she finally told me I could blog about our trip to San Diego! That makes a lot of sense, since my blog gets more hits than hers. 

[HG: That’s right. Why don’t you just kick me while I’m lying here in bed?]

Ahem. Anyway, San Diego is famous for its beaches and its harbor. It’s a great place for sailors to hang out. 

IMG_1188

 

That tall ship with the two masts is The Californian, a replica of a mid-19th century cutter that used to patrol the shores of San Diego, looking for pirates and smugglers.  We didn’t see any pirates while we were there, though. Mostly a lot of drunk college students on spring break. 

IMG_1195

 

We said hello to Juan Rodriguez Cabrillo, the first European known to have landed in San Diego Bay. He called the place San Miguel, though. They didn’t say why they changed the name, but San Diego is considered the birthplace of California. 

IMG_1200

 

We also went to the old Point Loma Lighthouse near Cabrillo’s monument. HG was trying to take my picture in front of the lighthouse when this lady photobombed us. She was rushing to the women’s room on the trail down below. HG muttered, “I hope you wet yourself.” 

[HG: Shhh, I did not. Well, I was feeling like crap then. I was coming down with the flu.]

[Sailor Babo: You said you got the flu shot already!]

[HG: Yeah, well, the doctor says it’s only 60% effective. Go figure.] 

We also went to the San Diego Zoo! We saw a lot of awesome animals!

IMG_0913

rhinos kissing

IMG_0935

baby giraffes

IMG_1031

a polar bear on the grass—wait, that doesn’t make any sense

We also had dinner with the awesom Stevil and his Beloved at Prepkitchen in La Jolla! 

IMG_1129

 

Steve is a really nice guy! I told HG I wanted to go home with him. 

[HG: *sniff* Fine. Go with Steve and live at the Aerie. You can be Penny’s new dog toy.]

La Jolla is this pretty beach town right by San Diego. The next day, we went with HG’s daughters and relaxed on the beach.

IMG_1152

 

I tried to build a sand castle but we didn’t bring pails or sand shovels, so it was kind of a mess. 

IMG_1143

 

We also saw some odd things at the beach. 

IMG_1147

banner with a talking lizard on it

IMG_1149

people walking into the ocean and falling down

We were both sad to leave San Diego, but HG says she definitely wants to go back. I’m going to hold her to her promise. San Diego is a sailor’s town!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sailor Babo in San Diego

  1. Lurkertype says:

    Looks like a great trip!
    LTSB is glad to see his scarf-wearing fashion is spreading to other Babos.

  2. homebody says:

    I hope you feel better soon, HG!

    • Thank you, homebody! The problem with this flu is that every day, it’s a new illness. I’ve gone from that hit-by-a-truck feeling to head-filled-with-cotton-batting. The doctor said I should feel better in 7 to 10 days, so I’m hoping by tomorrow there should be a break.

      • homebody says:

        Ugh … cotton batting head is awful. Sending thoughts of spicy steamy soup your way, although maybe it is too warm for that … spicy gazpacho?

        • I can eat hot soup in the middle of July! 😀 It’s not quite that warm out here, however. We had a thunderstorm last night and it felt a little humid, but once the storm cleared out it got chilly again. But now that you mention it, a bowl of hot and sour soup would be really good right now.

  3. Jaypo says:

    I do hope some of that beautiful weather helped your spirits and health. I’m so glad you find time to get away and enjoy things that please you!

    • It helped a lot, thanks Jaypo! I think the reason I got sick was because my body really, REALLY didn’t want to leave San Diego. I didn’t see the point of staying and spreading the germs to my daughters, however. So home I went. *sigh*

  4. M-----l says:

    Great post, HG. I hope Babo managed to get the sand out of his stitches.

    • Thanks! I took a very soft brush and gently swept the sand off of him, but Sailor Babo sure didn’t like it. He only relented when I told him it was that or a vacuum cleaner.

  5. Pingback: ahoy sailor babo! | Hangaku Gozen's Blog

  6. Sounds like lots of fun! Looks like the weather was great too. Hope you feel better very soon, HG!

    • Thanks! I’m getting to the point where I’m bored with lying in bed and playing games on my laptop, so I must be feeling better!

      The weather in San Diego is considered the best in California: sunny and mild, and very rarely cold or extremely hot. It got chilly at night, but that’s the case for most of California. You can always tell who’s a tourist because they didn’t bring a jacket and had to shell out for a I heart CA sweatshirt from a boardwalk vendor. 😀 That said, the water at the beach was freezing! I couldn’t believe there were all these people running around in swimsuits, let alone the surfers walking into the sea, though they had wetsuits.

Leave a Reply

