Royal Botanic gardens

Once you walk past the Opera House and go around the corner you come to the Botanic Gardens which cover about 30 hectares and I don’t know how many acres that is but it’s an enormous enough area to stroll about in with lots of trees and plants and ponds to look at.

Babo had time for a quick play in the bamboo

Before deciding he would be a rule follower in order to avoid being attacked by birds

He also decided that he would rather NOT sit and face the pond thank you very much

Because this girl was feeding the eels and the ducks (see that rippling water near her, there are eels under there)

And Babo did NOT want to look at the water as he thought it wouldn’t be a pleasant sight at all to see a fluffy baby duck being taken by an eel even if it was the way of nature.

Babo is not sure what to make of these dangerous eels and birds and was kind of glad to get out of there.

 

About Jane

Well I still enjoy an episode or ten of Buffy. Cat from Vox in a previous life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Royal Botanic gardens

  1. M-----l says:

    Okay, that is the creepiest pond ever. I wouldn’t be surprised if Frankenstein (or his monster, to be more accurate) came up and tossed that little girl right in.

  2. Eels are best enjoyed dipped in teriyaki sauce and grilled over a charcoal brazier. Knowing that they eat tiny baby ducklings makes them even more enjoyable. I have a feeling that Sailor Babo just wanted to get the heck out of there, however.

    • Jane says:

      Funny how we don’t find the thought of ducks eating baby eels as disturbing. I haven’t eaten eel, actually don’t think I’ve ever seen it on a menu but I’ve heard people say they enjoyed it. Used to be lots in the river where I used to live.

      • You may have seen unagi at Japanese restaurants—that’s the grilled teriyaki eel I was talking about. The native Japanese ones are endangered, I’ve been told, so now the Japanese are looking for new freshwater eels to grill. I’m surprised they haven’t discovered the Australian eels.

        I think because we are warm-blooded, we share some empathy with ducks, while we don’t have much sympathy for cold-blooded things like eels. Baby eels are served in a kind of soup in Japan. Just saying.

  3. mmcurator says:

    Aw!! My favorite shot is him in the bamboo…too cute!! He looks so freaked out by the eels though, poor little guy!

  4. Lurkertype says:

    I really have to agree with Babo about the eels. I don’t even like eating them. I didn’t know they ate ducklings!

Leave a Reply

