a letter to Sofia from Sailor Babo

 Dear Sofia,

I know you were worried about me when you had to pack me up in my box and send me away, so I thought I’d write you a letter to let you know that I am safe and sound and made it to Jane’s house today.

My trip was sometimes perilous but always exciting and I have already had some great adventures to tell you about.

After you packed me in my box I went to the Post Office and from there I went on a night time train ride to Newcastle. I could tell that it was cold frozen outside but I was snug as a bug in my sturdy little box and I think I must have slept most of the way. When we arrived at Newcastle I went to another Post Office and they put me in a truck and I travelled for many miles. I’m not sure where I ended up but it was another Post Office somewhere. At this Post office the ladies put me in a pile with all Jane’s other mail and I got to go for a ride on a motorbike which was quite fast and thrilling. I’d like to do that again sometime. The motorbike man left me at Lizzie’s house. (Lizzie is Jane’s little girl) and then Daz came and picked me up and I travelled in his big ute back to Newcastle where Jane was staying.

It was a very busy couple of days Sofia with much travelling and I was very tired by this time.

Then I was sitting in my box on the kitchen table and I heard Jane come home and she went – OH LOOK!! Salior Babo is here and she sounded very excited to see me which made me happy.

After Jane took me out of the box she took me over to meet her dog Betty. Betty is a very old lady but she is very kind and gentle and she said – pleased to meet you Babo.

Jane thought I might be needing a rest so she took me up to her bedroom and I had a lie down with Teddy and we all watched Masterchef. Teddy seems like a nice fellow as well. He told me he had to go through the washing machine last week. I’m going to try and stay squeaky clean because I don’t want to go through the washing machine.

Then Teddy’s owner Chicken Little came in and jumped up on the bed and oh boy wasn’t she surprised to see me lying in bed with Teddy. She just sat there staring at me for a long time and it was getting kind of awkward but then she came up and gave me a big razzle dazzle hello sailor welcome. Jane said that it’s lucky that Chicken Little loves her toys and is very gentle with them because she seems to have her eye on me. I think we are going to have some interesting times together.

When Jane had to leave the room she took me over to her bedside table and introduced me to Dockyard Dame and said I should sit with her for a while. Well Sofia I have to say that when I first saw Dockyard Dame I was a bit scared of her because she looks very tough but she turned out to be a very friendly girl indeed and she said that she’d look after me and show me the ropes. And I told her that I already know a lot about ropes because I’m a Sailor after all.

And Sofia I was so glad that you packed those biscuits for me because I was starving by then. I sat on Dockyard Dames lap and ate one biscuit and I asked her if she wanted some but she said no that I should have all of it because I must be very hungry. Anyway I don’t think she eats much because it looks like she has stitches in her mouth, I think she must have had some dental surgery done recently, she must just drink milkshakes through a straw when she’s hungry.

I gave Chicken Little a half of a biscuit because she looked like she was hungry as well and she enjoyed it very much. She enjoyed it so much that she tried to climb over onto the bedside table where we were sitting because she must have thought I had a secret stash of biscuits hidden somewhere.

Then Jane came back and said it was bedtime for everyone. Chicken Little sleeps in a t shirt. She crawls into it like its a tunnel. It made me laugh. Teddy asked me if I wanted to sleep in there as well but I didn’t because I thought Chicken Little might try to razzle dazzle me again and I was feeling too tired for fun and games.

So now it’s time for me to brush my teeth and go to sleep. So I just want to say thank you Sofia for looking after me so well while I stayed at your place. I know you were sad to see me go and I want you to know that I had a lot of adventures and exciting times with you and your family. You were the first person I met when I arrived in Australia and you made it very special. I hope I have just as many happy adventures with Betty and Teddy and Chicken Little and whoever else I might meet on my travels.

Goodnight and sweet dreams Sofia..

 Love from Sailor Babo.

About Jane

Well I still enjoy an episode or ten of Buffy. Cat from Vox in a previous life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to a letter to Sofia from Sailor Babo

  1. Lauri says:

    Yay! This is so much fun! What fun folks SB is meeting! Very dear aminals and what a cool Dockyard Dame!
    Lol at the idea of SB brushing his teef! No wonder he has no tartar buildup!

    • Jane says:

      I actually found myself feeling jealous of Babo the other day. I mean he is such a well travelled man and he meets so many people. Dockyard Dame will keep a good eye on him though, she is a Bitch with Attitude. (That’s the name of the roller derby doll series she comes from, not just my personal opinion). We are big on tooth brushing here, even Chicken Little brushes hers. Well, occasionally, and not always successfully.

  2. M-----l says:

    Well done, Jane. That story was far better than the one in the real children’s book published by the Uglydoll people.

    I’m happy that Sailor Babo finally got to move on to the next host, but now I’m kind of sad for Sofia. It sounds like they got to be good friends. I don’t think she’s seen the last of Sailor Babo, though. I’ve got a strong feeling that he’s going to end up visiting her again before his adventures are over.

    • Jane says:

      I think Sofia will be getting her very own Babo by the sound of it.

      • trayflow says:

        I am working on it, but I have my limits $. Knowing Sofia, I will get one for her and she will love it for a day or two and then it will end up in the big pile of forgotten toys. She is a little obsessed with him being gone and now your story, Jane! Maybe I need to print it for her so she can look at the photos. She truly adores the name Chicken Little and keeps saying it.

  3. Laurie says:

    I’m having fun imagining the “razzle dazzle hello sailor welcome”. Well done, Jane, what a sweet story!

  4. Lurkertype says:

    This is the best children’s book I’ve read in ages AND a terrific SB adventure. Chicken Little’s bewildered expression is priceless. And I love that Sofia packed supplies with him.

    • Jane says:

      That was so funny, she just couldn’t believe what she was seeing. Yesterday she kept running over to the bedside table to have a look at him.

  5. AWWW! This has to be the cutest Sailor Babo adventure so far! Sailor Babo looks a little overwhelmed, but I would be too, after getting out of a cardboard box and being greeted by all these new people and dogs. Chicken Little’s mug in the camera made me laugh. I hope she understands Sailor Babo is not a dog toy: my daughter’s dog, who reminds me a little of Chicken, didn’t get that, so mine had to stay up on the computer desk or packed in my bag.

    • Jane says:

      Chicken Little is becoming obsessed with him, or maybe it’s because she thinks he has biscuits, but last night I had to put poor Babo in the drawer because she kept trying to climb over me to look at him. Today I’ll put him in my bag.

  6. Pingback: The story of how Sofia said goodbye to Sailor Babo and shipped him off to Jane! | Postcards from Sailor Babo

  7. amyhftw says:

    Wonderful story and photos! I also love the ‘razzle dazzle’ and the photos of Chicken Little. Betty is also a sweetie! Babo is in good hands with you and your crew. Dockyard Dame isn’t going to let anything happen to him!

    • Jane says:

      Dockyard Dame is one tough derby girl for sure, I’m hoping she can keep him safe from Chicken Little through the nights because every time Chicken Little remembers Babo is here she runs in to make sure he really is still here. I don’t think I will be able to leave those two home alone.

Leave a Reply

